Ski Trip Part I: Winter Park

As I write this, I sit on my couch home alone, as I will be all week. So where is Missy? Well, my lovely wife is chaperoning some of our church high school youth (we are adult leaders at Hope for Ignition, the High School program…and that is a whole other blog topic) on a Colorado ski excursion this week. They are skiing Keystone, Vail, and even “Breck”. But don’t feel sorry for me, she is the one missing out on my Iowa “stay-cation”. She will be sad that she missed out on some quality Wii time, and um…uh…

Crap.

I really wish I was in Colorado.
dsc_04691

Last year we both went on the annual Ignition ski trip, yet this year I decided against it. I am trying to save my PTO this year in hopes of a big trip this summer; now whether that be back to Ghana, the east coast, or some other fancy far-flung corner of the globe…I’d like to at least have the option of using as many of those days that I can. That meant that I’d have to say “no” to spending a week shredding fresh Colorado powder. Since this week is Missy’s spring break anyway, she didn’t have to worry about taking time off.

So, as a way to pass the time, I wanted to look back on my trip last year. I grew up skiing the east coast mountains. Whitetail was a short car ride from my house, so this is where I first learned to ride. Quite daunting, isn’t it? As the years went by, trips to Vermont and upstate New York were made with family and friends, but trips to the Rockies were never a real possibility. So last year when we were asked to chaperone the Ignition trip, we jumped all over that opportunity!

Winter Park. The glorious glorious Rocky Mountains. It was love at first sight, to be sure. This was truly my first experience skiing any mountain west of the Mississippi River, and it was unlike anything I had ever done up to that point. The funny thing is that until last winter, I had not skied in four plus years, yet when I hopped on those planks, it was like riding a bike! I found my groove and had a blast!

Overall, the trip was so much fun. Some of the guys in my small group went as well, and I was able to get to know them better (they are awesome!). I was sad that I didn’t go this year, but since Missy is on the ski trip, I thought it would be a great time to share some of the sweet pics we took!

The glorious Rocky Mountains!

The glorious Rocky Mountains!

 

Missy and I documenting the moment.

Missy and I documenting the moment.

 

My daily points were taken away for being un-cool.

My daily points were taken away for being un-cool.

 

Low bridge!

Low bridge!

So, I’m sure Missy will have some pretty sweet pics and some pretty sweet stories when she gets back. At least I know she is having a great time! I can’t wait to see and hear all about the trip. Oh yeah, one thing to pray for as they travel home on Friday: the bus they are taking broke down last year…pray that it makes it back to Iowa safely! Part II to come soon!

Pray that THIS doesn't happen on the way home!

Pray that THIS doesn't happen on the way home!

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

Comment & Discuss

