The New Axe

dsc_1077_2

There it is. In all its glory. The new guitar. The new 6-String. The new axe. The Pièce de Résistance of my guitar collection. My…precioussssss. Ok…whoa…whoa. So maybe that’s taking it too far. And as far as my guitar collection…well, until this past Saturday it consisted of two guitars, one acoustic and one electric.

It’s no secret that I play guitar. A lot of guitar actually. I play lead electric one or two times a month in worship bands at Lutheran Church of Hope in West Des Moines, Iowa. With a membership of over 7,000 people at last check, that’s no small undertaking. I also play at Hope’s Thursday night service called Immersion, which is geared toward a younger audience. I also play with a few friends occasionally at other contemporary services in the area. So, all in all…between practicing, rehearsing, and worshiping, more chances than not, you can can find me with a guitar in my hands.

So, that’s some background. I’ve had a guitar since middle school, but I never became serious about it until two or three years ago when I became involved with worship at Hope. I’ve gotten better in my abilities, and built up a small collection of effects pedals, but I’ve never actually had a chance to choose my own guitar. The electric I was using was a Fender Squire Telecaster that was given to me in high school. Although I had since modified it [new pick-ups, new paint job (thanks, Dad!)], I’ve always wanted something different.

That’s where Missy came in. She knew that I’ve always wanted a better guitar; something that would last forever, and one that wouldn’t “buzz” when I played at Hope (she is also in Hope’s worship band; she’s a really great singer!). So, this past Saturday, as a surprise, she took me out to buy me my dream guitar as a quasi-Easter/Birthday/Christmas gift.

“You will never be playing more than you are now, so why wait?” – Missy

My thoughts exactly, babe, my thoughts exactly. What did I ever do to deserve you? It wasn’t a complete surprise; she gave me about a week to research what I thought I wanted, but in the end, my final choice was my first choice: a Gibson Les Paul 2008 Standard with a “Light Burst” finish.

The hard case it comes with.

The hard case it comes with.

Unveiled.

Unveiled.

Body shot.

Body shot.

Full Length.

Full Length.

“She’s a beaut, Clark!” – Uncle Eddy

So there it is. Pretty nice, huh? I think so too! I hope you like it, and I hope that you get a chance to come see and hear it sometime soon!

Disclaimer #1: this guitar wasn’t cheap (although we got it a lot less than MSRP, but still). Missy and I both know that we are extremely blessed, and we know that a lot of people don’t even have one guitar. We get that. This isn’t something I plan on doing every five years (going out and buying a new guitar that is); I plan on playing this beast until it falls apart in my hands.

Disclaimer #2: please don’t mistake this for a “come look and see talented me play in front of thousands on Sunday mornings!” That’s not what this is about either. See, Paul writes in Romans, chapter 8:

Just as our bodies have many parts and each part has a special function, so it is with Christ’s body. We are many parts of one body, and we all belong to each other. In his grace, God has given us different gifts for doing certain things well. So if God has given you the ability to prophesy, speak out with as much faith as God has given you. If your gift is serving others, serve them well. If you are a teacher, teach well. If your gift is to encourage others, be encouraging. If it is giving, give generously. If God has given you leadership ability, take the responsibility seriously. And if you have a gift for showing kindness to others, do it gladly.

I feel that I have the gift of music, and I use it to worship and praise Him. At the same time, I feel that I help others worship Him through my gifts and abilities He has graciously given me. I do want you to come and see me at Hope, but not because of me. Do it because of Him. I play for an audience of One.

Anyway, thanks for reading along! Let me know what you think of my new axe here! And be sure to tell Missy how awesome she is next time you see her!

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

5 thoughts on “The New Axe

Comment & Discuss

