Pay it Forward

cup2

I will rarely ever blog at work, but this deserves special attention.

I love me some coffee. I mean, love the stuff. Hot, cold, dark, light…it doesn’t matter. I am an avid aficionado of the “bean juice”, as my good friend Justin Wise would say. I am a java hound. A brew buff. A coffee connoisseur.

This morning, I went to Starbucks. I pulled into the drive-thru, waited for a few minutes for the cars ahead of me, and then placed my order. Grande-Toffee-Nut-Latte, extra hot…my usual request (ok, it may sound snooty, but it’s delicious). Not that I frequent Starbucks daily, or even weekly…I just know what I like, and the GTNL (EH) is, in my opinion, by far the best they offer. After waiting another minute or two, I pulled up to the window, and prepared to pay. That’s when it happened.

My gift card was just about empty, so with a (half) smile on my face, I stuck the card and a few extra bills out the window. The barista politely just smiled back and said “I’m sorry, but the lady in front of you just paid for your coffee”.

Drop my plastic gift card!!! Say what??? (Sorry Peg, I just had to steal your line :-))

After what must have been 15 minutes, I picked my jaw up off the floor and managed to mutter a few words like “Oh, really?” and “Wow, that’s awesome!” I have heard of something like this happening on the news, but never thought it would happen to me! After perhaps another few seconds, I stuck my card and crumpled bills back out the window and said “well, I’d like to pay for that mans coffee behind me”.

She handed me my change and my drink, and I was soon on my way. I immediately called my wife, Missy. I was so happy! A random act of kindness never felt so good. I could tell she was excited too, but she quickly quipped “You know what would have been hilarious?”

“No babe, what?” I asked.

“If the dude behind you was ordering for all of his buddies too. Total: $47.50!” she exclaimed.

Laughter ensued.

I probably would have said something to the effect of “Uuumm…how much for just one of those?” So anyway, that is how my Friday started, and I just thought I would share. Today is a good day! Has anyone ever done something like this for you? If so, tell me about it!

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

2 thoughts on “Pay it Forward

  1. Nice! Too bad we don’t have Starbucks here in Belgium, when I was in London a while back I went there to get a drink too.

    It’s a really cool story! I enjoyed reading it and to answer your question, no never had anyone payed for me before, well not like in this case.

    How did you know who you had to call actually?

  2. I actually had this happen in an Arby’s drive-thru. The lady at the window told me the lady in front of me thought I was a courteous driver. I was so shocked that I didn’t know what to do. It was pretty awesome. I don’t remember anyone behind me, but I don’t think I would have thought of paying for them just because I was so confused and stunned. Oh, and I felt like a pig because I had ordered a sandwich AND those chicken shaker things.

Comment & Discuss

