We Are Family

Hiatus: Over.

I know that it’s been a while, but May has been quite the busy month. I can not believe that June is only mere days away. Missy is wrapping up school next week, and with that comes grades, end-of-year tests, and report cards. I have been keeping busy with work, doing the whole guitar thing, and trying to wrap up another year of Ignition. Then there have been the weddings, family gatherings, grad parties, planning vacations, and a recent visit from Jake, Melissa, and Tennyson…oy, no wonder the time has flown by!

I'll take any excuse to show off the cuteness that is Tennyson!

I'll take any excuse to show off the cuteness that is Tennyson!

Jake, Melissa, and Tennyson live in Manassas, Virginia, and just had a baby! Well, by “just” I mean, nine months ago, and by “Manassas” I mean Portland Oregon, via Iowa, via…well…heck…they’ve lived all over. Anyway, Tennyson was born in Portland, but Melissa was originally from Manassas (which is weird cause I was originally from a town about an hour away from there) and Jake (being my wife’s big bro) was originally from Iowa. It’s confusing, I know. That’s not the point.

…Um…

Well…OK, so there is no point. I just wanted to share a few pics from their recent visit to Iowa! They came and visited over the long Memorial day weekend, and it was non-stop action from the time they flew in last Wednesday night, to the time they left early the next Tuesday morning. We had a family friend get married on Saturday the 23rd, a 90th birthday party for Harvey (Missy’s grandfather) on Sunday, and Shannon’s grad party on Sunday as well. We also managed to squeeze in a trip to the Des Moines Farmers Market and a few heated games of Ticket to Ride to boot. Whew! I’m exhausted just thinking about it all again!

So, without further ado, on to the pictures from our extended weekend of adventure!

Side note: I was very sad when they arrived; Tennyson was very unsure of me and cried when I tried to hold her (*tear*). Missy thinks it was the goatee. I think she just couldn’t handle the awesomeness. Hahaha…I kid. It was probably the goatee… Anyway, by Saturday, she began to warm up to me. Hopefully I won’t have to go through the same thing next time I see her.

Tennyson likes cameras.

Tennyson likes cameras.

Passing time before the reception with one of Tennyson's favorite games!

Passing time before the reception with one of Tennyson's favorite games!

Two peas in a pod.

Two peas in a pod.

Four generations of Florers.

Four generations of Florers.

Who doesn't like a naked baby?

Who doesn't like a naked baby?

Jammin'...she's better than me!

Jammin'...she's better than me!

Yep, the bar has been set pretty high…she crawls, sits, stands, bounces, blabbers, invents things…she’s super baby, and only nine months old!!! We may be biased, but isn’t she just the cutest?!

We think so anyway. We are thankful for the visit, and appreciate any time spent with the Flo-Bix clan outside of a white box (a.k.a. iChat). We miss them so much already, and it makes the want for Missy and I to have a baby of our own even worse.

That’s all this time, but if you want more pix, check out Melissa’s blog via the Blog Roll (Sign on the Window)…she has plenty!

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

2 thoughts on “We Are Family

  1. The up-close picture of T is amazing – fab job. She is adorable. And also, that hat Missy is wearing…. did I make that? I just spent five minutes staring at it because I can’t remember, but it looks really familiar.

    ❤ miss you

  2. Yeah! Missy is getting really good with that camera! Plus is doesn’t hurt that Tennyson is so photogenic! And yes, that hat is a Hannah Hardinge special. She wears it a lot, especially when she is trying to hide from the paparazzi 🙂

Comment & Discuss

