I am Man.

I have many leather-bound books, and my house smells of rich mahogany.

I stick to the four basic food groups of beef, pork, chicken, and potatoes.

I have Pine, Canadian Woodland, and Hickory Smoke scented colognes.

I enjoy hard-hitting football games on giant HD plasma screen TV’s.

I collect calluses like a kid collects baseball cards.

I believe that the darker the beer, the better.

My favorite movies include Lord of the Rings and Band of Brothers.

My guitar amp volume goes to 12.

I make fire with sticks and flint.

I live vicariously through myself.

I take my coffee black (ok…not true).

However, God apparently has a sense of humor and felt that I needed to dial back the testosterone. In a big way. Yesterday, December 29, 2009, Missy and I found out that our babies, the Hardinge Triplets, are all three…wait for it…

gulp

Girls.

To quote the All-American family man Clark Griswold, “If I woke up tomorrow with my head sewn to the carpet, I wouldn’t be more surprised than I am now.”

Look out, world…three baby girls are heading our way in May. If I was in disbelief before, this has completely blown my mind. We are already defying the odds though, so I guess I should have expected this! Plus Missy has had a few reoccurring dreams recently that featured three baby girls. We were also having a tough time coming up with boys names (the girls names were easy, but you won’t know until delivery, so don’t ask 😉 )…so I really should not be shocked at all by this latest revelation. At any rate, I am beside myself with excitement, anticipation, and joy! I am going to spoil those girls rotten, and I can’t wait ’til they get here!

I am Man, but…

My best friend in the whole-wide-world is a girl (Missy).

I can easily learn to like tea parties and fairy princesses.

I cried when I watched The Notebook for the first time.

I’ve been told that I am a good listener.

I’m not afraid to wear pink.

…and my future man-cave will be bigger than your house.
(Hey, I can dream, right?)

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

7 thoughts on “I am Man.

  1. Jeez the notebook didn’t even make ME cry and I cry after commercials!

    Granted I had already read the book….buuut the book didn’t make me cry either.

    You’re gonna be awesome as a father of girls, Tom – I’ve always known it!

  2. Peg here: all I have to say is every girl WANTS her own room…and you’d better make sure you have a dedicated closet for all those tutu’s. Whoo…eee, daddy!

  3. The Notebook?! Hahaha! You are a softy! Look out or those girls are going to make you into mush. It’s going to be pink bow ties and daddy-daughter teas all the time. LOVE IT. boom.

  4. I won’t make fun of you and the notebook Tommy. I don’t know why anyone wouldn’t cry knowing that the love of their life didn’t even recognize them in their old age 😦 I think you are the beez kneez Tommy and so will those little girls!

  5. Pingback: Dance It Out | living in pursuit

Comment & Discuss

