A Christmas Miracle

All our big plans were dashed.

The Terra Cotta Warriors exhibit? Nope.

The National Christmas Tree? Maybe next year.

The first leg stop on our East Coast Christmas Tour ’09 took us to Manassas, Virginia to visit Jake, Melissa, Tennyson, and the rest of the Bixler clan. Unfortunately, the East Coast Death Storm ’09 had other plans and forced an overnight pit-stop in H-town before reaching our intended destination.

Thankfully, east coast snow storms don’t pack the brutal sub-zero temps as they do in the midwest, so the snow didn’t stick around for long. So by late Sunday morning the roads were clear enough for us to make the 90 minute trip to Virginia. Determined not to let the storm storm ruin our visit, we wanted to make the most of our time spent in Manassas.

Now as you may be aware, my niece Tennyson and I haven’t exactly “hit it off” in the past few months. It all started off so well and with such promise when Missy and I visited her in Portland, but she was only two months old at the time and most likely didn’t know any better. However, since then it’s been mostly nothing but bad news. In all of her recent visits to Iowa, she has usually been slow to warm up to me and quick to run away crying when I attempted to play with her for longer than five minutes. Honestly, I was leery (to say the least) of spending two days with her on her home turf.

Well you wouldn’t believe it (and I still don’t), but being snowed in with Tennyson might have been one of the best things that happened to me the entire trip!

The best Christmas present ever (well...almost).

Not only does Tennyson like me…she loves me…and it was one of the best feelings in the world. Why the heck didn’t we visit sooner?! Seeing me in her own home must mean that I’m an OK guy after all! Not just some goon with a goatee she’s forced to be with after riding on an airplane for couple hours. There was non-stop playing and no crying…inside, outside, before nap time, after nap time…BOOM…a Christmas Miracle, indeed!

Play time...Tennyson certainly likes a good swing!

Tennyson enjoying one of her new Christmas toys.

Whew…that girl was a handful, but in a good way, so I definitely didn’t mind. The two days went by too fast, and now I can’t wait to see her again (although next time, I’ll have three little girls of my own to worry about too ;-))…

Crazy smiles...good times!

…but hopefully she won’t forget about me before then!

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

2 thoughts on “A Christmas Miracle

  1. Tenneyson looks like what I imagine Shannon might have looked like at that age. What a cutie.
    Personally, I think “Daddy’s little girls” are in for a wonderful life.

  2. Pingback: Monday Musings | living in pursuit

Comment & Discuss

