HOW DID THAT HAPPEN?!

Those were the words of one sweet eleven year old little boy in my class after he solved the puzzle. The puzzle of course, announced the news that Tommy and I are going to have triplets in June. While his question is one of innocence and lack of knowledge, I know that many adults that DO know where a baby comes from have that same question. We share our story to provide some encouragement for couples who are going through the same struggles because we know that some people are not surrounded by support and feel like they can’t talk about their journey.

If you have been reading our blog for awhile, or know us well, you are aware that Tommy and I had a longer-than-most journey to starting a family. I have hypothyroidism and so after we tried for 6 months to concieve on our own, we were referred to an infertility doctor to get some testing done. Our “I.D.” was not concernd because we are fairly young and healthy, yet wanted to run a series of tests on us just to make sure there was something preventing conception that we were unaware of.

As I have blogged about before, the testing process is stressful and interesting because you want to be “fine” but you also want them to provide a solution to your heartache. It turned out that we both past all test with flying colors or above, so they told us it might just be a timing thing and not to worry. They had us just see what happens for another three months. After no news yet again, they wanted to schedule me for an exploratory laperoscopy to see if there was something going on inside of me that can’t be tested. While surgery is never a good thing, this time it ended up being one of the best things that could have happened in this process.

The surgeons found that I had severe stage three endometriosis (out of four stages). This was definitely a major reason why we would have trouble concieveing. They were able to laser all of the endometriosis out and told us that it will come back so we needed to be pretty agressive with treatment if we were going to concieve before it did.

Most people assume that we had Invitrofertilization to have these triplets, and I would too if I was in their shoes, but it isn’t so. The first month after my surgery, they started me on a medication called Clomid. This is a very common medication for women trying to concieve. Basically it is ten little pills that you take over the course of five days at the start of your cycle. It causes you to hyperovulate, or mature and release more than one egg during that cycle. They have you monitor your ovulation days and then usually they have you do an ultrasound to see if it worked. We skipped over that part because my body had always ovulated like clockwork. We had an IUI to help out our chances on the day that my test had indicated I needed it and prayed….a lot. The doctors informed us that usually this whole process takes a few months to work and that there would be only a 5% chance that we would end up with anything more than twins from the Clomid.

Two weeks later I was late. Tommy had seen the heartache I had endured taking a pregnancy test before and having it be negative, so he requested that I wait a few days to see if it was just the surgery or medication throwing my cycle off. I waited. The morning we agreed that I was to take a test if nothing had “happened” yet started at 4:30 AM for me. I couldn’t sleep, and I laid in bed wide-awake for an hour before I pep-talked myself into getting up and peeing on that darn stick while Tommy was sleeping. I did it and although the box said to wait 4-5 minutes before any results would show, it turned to a purple plus sign within 4-5 seconds. I awoke Tommy and we were beside ourselves with happiness.

Later that day I went to have a blood test to confirm the results. My “levels” were fairly high at that point and the teasing ensued that there was more than one baby in there. The test two days later repeated those results with high numbers. We just chalked that up to my hormones being off from the Clomid. Little did we know when we went in for an ultrasound a few weeks later, those high numbers were telling us more.

The first picture we saw where our whole life changed.

Our ultrasound tech was shocked, our doctor was shocked, and I don’t think there is a word in the English language to describe our reaction. Three separate sacs, three separate placentas. Three. Triplets. Most likely fraternal because of their separation. Actually there is only a 6% chance that they are identical if they split from one egg in the first three days after to conception.

There are a lot of things that need to change in our lives including my car choice, finding a new house, and purchasing all of the “stuff” our three babies will need. All of that said, we are so excited and terrified at the same time and we will take all of the prayers we can get that all three girls grow to at least five pounds inside of me and remain healthy when they are born.

They were already too big to see full bodies in one ultrasound together, so here are their tiny three heads at 14 weeks.

A side view of baby C at 14 weeks.

14 Weeks Pregnant with Triplets.

6 thoughts on “HOW DID THAT HAPPEN?!

  1. Thanks for sharing your story Missy and Tommy! We struggled for awhile too, I know all about the emotional rollercoaster ride:) My best wishes and congratulations again!

  2. Your combined personalities are so perfect for parenthood. There will be challenges, that’s a given, but God knew what He was doing when he looked for a couple who might be able to take care of the triplets He wanted to share with the world. You’re an intelligent, compassionate and responsible couple who just happens to be surrounded by a loving support system of family. It takes a village…and we’re just the village he had in mind! Love you, both so much. “Mimi”

  3. congratulations again, you guys! thanks so much for sharing your amazing story! so are you thinking of A-B-C names for the girls yet?! Abigail, Bridget, and Chloe? Adrianna, Bethany, and Charlotte? Acacia, Blythe, and Christiana?? hehehe!

Comment & Discuss

