Pass in Review: A Decade in Pictures

Ten years, ten pictures. Sounds simple enough, right? Well…I think this task is easier said then done. In case you haven’t noticed, my wife and I like to take pictures. A lot of pictures. So before we move into this new decade (yes I know, technically the decade starts next year…but in my book it’s a new decade when the “decade digit” changes when I’m writing down the date), I’d like to take a few minutes and reflect on the last.

In the year 2000

Missy and Tommy: The First Picture

….I meet the girl that would eventually become my wife in St. Louis, of all places.

2001 brought high school graduation and freshman (RAT) year at VMI.

VMI Barracks

The words “push, RAT” and “strain” become all too familiar.

In 2002

My first Tropical Snow experience. DEE-Lish.

…Missy I and make things “official”. She makes her first visits to Maryland and gets her first taste of Maryland hardshell crabs. I make my first visit to Iowa and get my first taste of Tropical Snow and Iowa pork.

2003

All the roomies at Ring Figure.

Junior year at VMI brings Ring Figure; the presentation of class rings. Big dance, even bigger party.

2004

Surprise! Head-shaving is a 21st birthday tradition at VMI.

Missy pulls off what is perhaps the biggest surprise in our relationship to date: on parents weekend (and 21st birthday) she schemes with all the room mates and parents to completely surprise me for the weekend. She waits in Applebee’s for two hours to serve me my first beer. Decide that Missy is a keeper.

2005

Dad and I at my graduation from VMI.

Graduate from VMI and make my move to Iowa! Also: landed a sweet job at the Baker Group and got engaged to Missy over Thanksgiving. Life is good!

2006

At last...Mr. and Mrs. Hardinge!

Missy and I get hitched! Most of the east coast fam makes it out to Iowa for the big event, which featured Hickory Park catered Bar-B-Q at the reception.

2007

Mom, Missy and I on the beach in North Carolina.

Settle in to married life in Iowa. Spend a week with the entire extended fam in North Carolina for summer vacation.

2008

The farm truck in Ghana.

Missy and I visit Ghana on a mission trip and our lives are rocked. “Life changing” is an understatement. Other significant events include my sweet niece being born in August.

2009 was a busy year, to say the least. I started this blog in 2009, so most of you know what was going on. However, if you need reminding of the highlights…

The harbor of Vernazza.

…we went to Italy for our belated honeymoon and we found out that we are expecting Triplets!

* * * * * *

Whew! I did it. Ten years with ten pictures. Looking back, it’s hard to believe how far we’ve come. However, now it’s time to look forward. These next ten years are going bring a tidal wave of change at the Hardinge household…and we can’t wait!

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

2 thoughts on “Pass in Review: A Decade in Pictures

  1. Gosh forgot what baby faces you guys have. Sweet to know we have three new babie faces coming. Keep focussed on the blessings…

  2. Really fun to look at these pictures and to know the 2 of you as a couple… so blessed! Continue the love with decades more of pictures to come… the fun has just begun!
    Denise

Comment & Discuss

