Favorite Things

Although my wife might not always agree, I am a man who knows what he likes.  I can easily name you things like my favorite fast-food, author, and college football team (Pancheros, Malcolm Gladwell, Iowa Hawkeyes).  Yet, as the arrival of our babies gets closer and closer, there is one favorite that I’ve begun to cherish more and more.  One favorite that I believe will become a rarity once babies A, B, and C become more than just images on an ultrasound screen:

Saturday mornings with Missy.

It’s more of a routine actually…like a grown-up version of Saturday morning cartoons.  And it usually tends to go a little something like this:

  • Sleep in (usually to a time frowned upon by most other adults)
  • Stumble downstairs to find Missy curled up on the couch watching the tube
  • Hop on the laptop; update facebook and twitter status
  • Make breakfast (brunch) for the two of us (to be fair…we take turns from week to week)
  • Brew a pot of fine coffee to drink from my favorite mug (that Missy likes to make fun of)
  • Enjoy said coffee while catching up on DVR’d TV shows, sports, or movies

This, complimented with a good pair of fleece pants, a thermal tee or hoodie, and slippers, spells perfection.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not disappointed when we have other Saturday morning plans…like the farmers market in downtown Des Moines, which is a summertime staple.  But getting the chance to unwind after a long week and catch up and hang out with Missy is something that I can’t put a price on (OK, so maybe I’m just a little disappointed).

But when the girls get here, our lives will cease to exist as we know it…no more Saturday mornings alone.  Fortunately, all of my old favorite things will be replaced by new favorite things.  It won’t be Saturday mornings with Missy; it will be Saturday mornings with my girls…and I know that it will be glorious.  And just as long as Missy and I still get an hour or two a week to ourselves (that’s where you all come in ;-)), I’ll still be the happiest man in the world!

What are your favorite things?

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

6 thoughts on “Favorite Things

  1. UGH I LOVE saturday mornings! More than I did as a kid! Our routine:
    -sleep in
    -I wake up first, play on iPhone in bed until chris wakes up
    -we lay and debate whose turn it is to make the Big Breakfast
    -Loser of debate makes the Big Breakfast, winner watches TV
    -Eat big breakfast together, compliment the wonderful meal, watch more TV
    -drink tea and coffee
    -Do all of this nice and slow 🙂

    It’s fabulous!

  2. As you correctly suggest, there’s not a lot of difference between the weekdays and weekends with babies. Even when dada takes T for the morning it’s only a matter of time before she wants mama (more specifically mama’s boobs). The getting up early every day is the tough part, but having J around to help the whole day is amazing. You’re also right that a good early morning snuggle with a soft and smooth baby is pretty great any day of the week.

    All of this changes if you will live with family. I seriously don’t know how people care for babies on their own. Okay, I know how they do it, I just don’t know how they don’t lose their minds in the process. My folks are super excited to hang with T on weekend mornings and that has given us back some semblance of what you describe. My quality of life has gone up quite a bit since moving in with my parents.

  3. Tom, speaking of “relief”, I told your daddy he might want to bring Erma out by himself for a couple of weeks this summer since I won’t have earned much vacation by June or July. Maybe enough for a long fly-out weekend. I’ve used it all being laid up. He said, “I do know how to change a diaper”. Complicating the matter it looks like house closing will be around or after August 1st. Since my heart is in Iowa, the Lord will provide a way.

  4. Pingback: Chi-Town Bound « living in pursuit

Comment & Discuss

