Identity Crisis

I get it.  It’s tough.  My last name is unusual…and I’m OK with that.

H-A-R-D-I-N-G-E

Hardinge.  Pronounced just like Harding, but written with an ‘e‘ on the end of it.  Don’t ask me why, but the last time I checked, some not so distant relative thought that Harding would look more sophisticated if they stuck an ‘e‘ after the ‘g(however, note that the ‘e’ is trendy once again…like ebay, e-mail, and all the unnecessary e’s after normal words like Shoppe and Pointe).

So after 26 years on this earth, I thought that I had seen and heard it all.

They say Har-dinge (like fringe)…

They say Har-dingy

They write Hardinger…

It’s gotten to the point that when I give my name at a restaurant, I usually leave off the ‘e’ just so the hostess doesn’t butcher it when letting Missy and I know that our table is ready.

Like I said…I thought that I had seen and heard it all.  That is…until this arrived in the mail yesterday:

Missy had custom-ordered this Lands’ End tote for the girls.  She e-mailed and called Customer Service to make sure that they got the spelling correct for the monogram.  She was so excited when the box showed up on our porch.  Until she opened it.  Huh?

Um…  Not.  Even.  Close. Who?  The “Hardubge Triplets”, that’s who.  Needless to say, Mrs. Hardubge and I are very upset.  This bag is being returned ASAP.

But hey…at least they got the ‘e‘!

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

5 thoughts on “Identity Crisis

  1. lol. i was thinking about this randomly again last night and just burst out laughing. Aunt Hardubge finds this hilarious!

  2. Feeeeeelin’ the pain! HeeeeHeeeeHeeee. We get all that, too. Now, three more little girls will get it for oh, say, the next 25 years!

  3. Well there goes our idea of a great gift for the girls! We thought we’d be so sneaky because we love the one you gave us for Gwenny…but I should have known. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Naming Rights | Part 2 | living in pursuit

Comment & Discuss

