Thoughts from a New Father

As you might imagine, it’s been an absolute whirlwind of a week to say the least.  As a brand new dad, there are a half-a-million thoughts swirling around in my brain right now.  Each thought alone isn’t enough to justify a blog post, so I thought it might be helpful to get them all down, pensieve style, to make room for more.

So humor me with my New Dad Stream of Consciousness, and if you have any comments or advice, you know what to do!

Newborn baby Tommy

  • First and foremost:  a special thanks to each and every one of you for your thoughts, comments, and prayers for Missy, the girls, and I.  We are completely overwhelmed by the love and compassion you have shown…we never knew how invested you all were in the health and well-being of our family.  We can never repay you all, so please know that we sincerely appreciate all you’ve done.
  • Along those same lines:  in the midst of, well…everything, I’m afraid I have accidentally deleted some of the pending comments on my blog.  So if you don’t see yours, I do apologize; please repost and I’ll get it up there ASAP.
  • The blog post from Monday was my way of decompressing for a few minutes from all the action.  After delivery I immediately went upstairs with the girls, and after spending 15 minutes in their room, I became emotionally overwhelmed by all the action and went to check on Missy.  I returned upstairs a few minutes later to the organized chaos, so by the time I went back downstairs, I was drained.  The post helped me calm down and refocus on the gravity of the amazing events that just took place.
  • I have no idea who the man in the elevator is in the picture I posted on Monday.  I think he was just catching a ride up to the NICU.
  • For those of you wondering where all that dark hair came from, above is a picture from when I was only one or two days old.  Mystery solved!
  • The girls all have O+ blood type, just like their Dad as well.

    Lily of the Valley

  • Went up to the NICU this morning to find Rowan’s IV in her head.  Seeing my dismay, the nurse explained to me that nothing was wrong; Rowan simply kicked out of the one on her foot and her forehead was the next best placement since her hands were slightly bruised already.  Even so, I feel that a warning would have been nice.
  • The “well baby” nursery is literally ten steps outside Missy’s hospital room.  Our girls are two floors up in the NICU, and although they are doing very well, it’s still really tough to walk past every time we visit them.  There needs to be a better way.
  • Daddy Mode” has officially kicked in:  I have been doing my part and helping the NICU nurses with the girl’s mouth care, temperature taking, and diaper changing.  If I can do all this while the girls are still hooked up to IV’s and monitors in their Isolettes, I shouldn’t have any problem once they get home, right?  At least…that’s what I keep telling myself.
  • There are a lot of beeps and alarms in the NICU.  It’s amazing how quickly I’ve learned to distiguish the normal ones from the not-so-normal ones.  Thankfully, they are usually normal.
  • I spent a few minutes Google-ing some more birth month facts:  the May birthstone is the Emerald, the zodiac sign is Taurus the Bull, and the May birth flower is the Lily of the Valley.  I think that those tiny little white flowers fit the girls perfectly, don’t you?
  • 1,436 individual blog hits on Monday the 17th.  Should I be surprised?
  • Is it cool that I wear my three wrist bands around like a badge of honor?
  • Will I have to get rid of my “faux-hawk” now that I’m a Daddy?
  • Saying (and hearing) their names aloud has been pretty surreal after keeping them a secret for so long.
  • No, she will not be called “JJ”.  Ever.

Here are a few more pictures from the past few days.

Sienna and Missy share a first kiss.

Changing Rowan inside her Isolette.

Can't forget about Jovie the Beast!

On a more serious note, Missy is getting discharged from the hospital Friday afternoon.  The realization of going home without our girls has slowly started to sink in.  More prayers for strength would be appreciated.

Thank you again for following along with us and our story…more to come soon.

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

15 thoughts on “Thoughts from a New Father

  1. I love lilies of the valley, they were my nannas’ (poppy’s mom) favorite flower, it’s what I remember most about her. Did you read where the 12 birth stones originate? I didn’t find this out until I worked in the jewelry store… the 12 tribes of Israel… just FYI… love the blog.. love the ‘first kiss’ :O) xo mom

  2. Dear Hardinge 5 – you don’t know me – my son Jack Fowler is a current Life Scout in Troop 10 where he has had the honor ( and fun) of working with Hunt for the last 4 years. He is, by the way, currently working on his Eagle project for Trinity with your mom as his “guide” along with Hunt. So – thinking as highly of your mom & dad as I do – when I got the word about the arrival of your girls I had to check out your blog. Please know that you are all in our prayers and I know God is holding you close and giving you the special strength he gives to all parents. Yours are wonderful and I know that you and Missy will be nothing less. Blessings to you all –
    Susan Fowler

  3. I can’t imagine leaving the hospital without my baby. My heart goes out to both of you. Just remember that the girls are getting stronger and will be coming home to be with you soon. We will continue to pray for your strength and love as all of this excitement and anxiousness continues.

  4. Pingback: update from daddy « The Hardinge Triplets

  5. NAP when they nap! I realize with 3 this may not work as well but if you get the opportunity TAKE it. Congratulations there are breath taking and praying for strength once you are home and have to leave them.

  6. Just some random thoughts…
    1. The girl’s paternal Hagerstown grandparents will be living at “Emerald” Point
    2. They have a cousin named “Lily”
    3. In the famous nursery rhymn, “Monday’s child is fair of face”
    It is so adorable watching you two “parenting” via webcam. Melts our hearts. Nighty night.

  7. -I would have no doubt been caught off guard by the IV in the forehead. I find is strange that the is the next best place for it, but I am not a doctor.

    -I am so impressed by your diaper changing abilities already, especially given the environment. Great job Superdad.

    -The wrist bands are sweet. Say it loud, say it proud. You have Triplets and that is freaking cool!!!

    -Don’t give up on the faux-hawk. You still need to be a cool/hip dad.

    -Thinking of your new family all the time. Can’t wait to see you all.

  8. The IV in the head thing probably was startling! Our nephew had that when he was born, and it will probably bruise, but I guess they do what they have to.

    Also, as sucky as it is, at least you are in the same wing as your babies….not really comforting though, I’m sure. I can’t imagine, knowing how emotional it is as a new mom (and dad!), what you guys have been going through – you’ve shown amazing courage and resilience. I had MAJOR emotional issues after Brady was born, so if your or Missy need some support from someone who’s had a small dose of what you are probably feeling, lemme know!

    Don’t you just feel like you slipped up on their names, and then realize it’s ok for you to say them!?!? I did that a lot, too. Or someone would say Brady’s name and I was like, wait, how did they know….oh yeah…. lol

    just remember that although you are their parents and primary caregivers, you will NEVER have to do this alone. NEVER. Because of the amazing people you and Missy are, you have a great support system, and will have as much or as little help as you need. Supporters may fade after awhile, but your main group will always be here!!

  9. Thank you for all of the updates! Literally teary eyed looking at your beautiful pictures of your new family. What an amazing miracle. Can’t wait to see all that is in store for you guys!

  10. We are so happy for you two! It sounds like the girls are doing great! We love all the pictures.

    So what is your favorite energy drink? You look tired .

  11. I almost cried…so many times…your girls are very lucky, they have been born into a wonderful family. And you will be fine at home, i though it was easier with out nurses hovering around lol although I DID only have one at a time hehe. They are so beautiful (and I mean it, not just saying the usual new baby thing). I cannot say congrats enough to you and how happy I am to see such a wonderful thing happen to such wonderful people. Your wife is truly an amazing woman, I hope your first night home goes well, and every night after will just get better and better.

Comment & Discuss

