Thoughts from a New Father, Vol. 2

I hope you don’t hate me for this.

From now on, if I posted every blog in list format, would you stop reading?

The problem is, every day something new happens that I feel is worthy of a post all on its own, yet finding the time to actually sit down and put those thoughts to paper each evening is becoming more and more of a challenge.  Yet before I started to feel too bad about it, I realized that the first edition of this post, as well as Missy’s latest offering, have been some of the most-read posts here on Living in Pursuit.  Plus a list (in my opinion) is better than leaving this site void of all new content for weeks like I have been doing.

Don’t worry, I still have plenty of material in the works for a few “meatier” posts, if you will, but in the meantime I hope you enjoy the second rendition of my “new Dad stream-of-consciousness.”

  • I celebrated my first Father’s Day this year being a dad as opposed to just having a dad.  It was a pretty surreal feeling.  It got me thinking about everything being a Dad means, from being able to show my girls unconditional love, support, and compassion, to being the designated bug-getter, smelly garbage taker-outer, and fixer of all broken things.  It’s a daunting task, but I feel that I am up to the challenge.
  • Speaking of fixing things, one memory of my dad was that he was always building or fixing something.  Whether it was putting up a new fence, fixing a broken cabinet, or helping me make the latest school project bigger and better than the rest of my classmates, it seemed like he always had a plan to get whatever “it” was, done.  His arsenal of tools rivaled that of any other Dad in town.  I really start to wonder (and worry) about what sort of stuff I will be called upon to do.  I don’t really know my way around a tool box too well, and the best way for me to navigate a car engine is through a licensed mechanic.  It doesn’t help when my credo for these matters is “If it moves but shouldn’t, use duct tape; if it doesn’t move but should, use WD-40.

Dad and I, circa 1985.

  • If you think I’m lying, just ask Missy about the wall mount for our first flat-screen TV.  All I’m saying is that hopefully my girls will only need help with history and math.  Or music.  Or blogging.  Those things, I can handle.
  • For those of you who are curious, Missy’s photo that you voted for a few weeks ago was indeed a finalist in the Des Moines Art Festival “Get Your Art On” photo contest, and ended up being displayed for all to see throughout the weekend.  Grandma Cindy and Grandpa Steve gave the six of us a Saturday morning off to go check it out, as well as hit up the Downtown Farmers Market.  Thanks to all who voted!

Missy and the winning photo!

  • Last week we finally took the girls out of the house to go somewhere other than the doctor’s office.  With the help of the entire family (and three Moby wraps) we were able to successfully attend Hope’s 9:15 church service.  Next time I think we’ll go to a service that doesn’t occur during a feeding, yet when all was said and done, I’m glad we went (we forgot a camera…so a lone cell phone picture is our only documentation of the big event).  We also attended a 4th of July celebration block-party last Sunday, and despite the rain we still managed to have a great time.  In the vacuum of the Florer’s house, it seems that every little cry and squeal is a catastrophe, yet when we’re out in public, it almost seems like no-big-deal, just another baby cry, situation.  Note to self:  get out more.

    The girls at Hope.

  • As previously mentioned, we’ve officially started our move into the Florer’s abode, albeit a few months earlier than anticipated.  The walls in our townhouse felt like they were literally closing in on us, and with the amount of visitors we’ve the girls have been getting only made the situation that much more amplified.  The move has also made things a lot easier on Shannon and Cindy, who were travelling the almost 30 miles per day to help Missy and I.  So in addition to raising three babies, we now have moving, selling and building to think about as well.  Anybody interested in buying a townhome?
  • We’ve already had a fair amount of people coming in from the east coast to visit.  First out was Grandpa Hunt and Uncle “Handsome” Rob.  They were quick on the uptake in learning the ins and outs of the handling and caring for three babies at once, and Uncle Rob even volunteered for a 3:00AM shift.  Uncle Handsome…what a champ!
  • Melissa (Triplet Blogger and Meal Coordinator Extraordinaire), Jake, and Tennyson followed on the heels of the first wave, arriving at the end of June.  We have all been entrenched at Camp Florer, making 11 people under one roof.  Needless to say, things have gotten a little crazy.  It’s a good crazy though ;-), and Tennyson has been super sweet as always, and absolutely amazing with the girls.  From helping feed and hold them to “doctor’s appointments”, she’s adopted to the big-cousin role very well.  A changing of the guard is soon to come again though, as my Mom arrives from the east coast early next week.
  • Exactly one year ago, Missy and I were in Italy on our belated Honeymoon expedition.  The other night, we commemorated the moment by looking back at old pictures, cracking open a bottle of Lemoncino we saved (straight from the Cinque Terre), and attempted to play our favorite board game with Melissa, Jake, and Shannon.  Yet when adding a 22-month-old toddler and three infants into the mix, the game only lasted about 30 minutes.  It’s funny what a difference a year makes…
  • This year we celebrated our anniversary a lot more low key.  Missy surprised me by getting all our pals together for a talegate party and I-Cubs baseball game.  The weather was perfect, the food was delicious, and it was the first time we had a chance to be with everyone again since the girls arrival.  Nothing beats a good game with friends on a warm summer night.
  • We’ve had a few more photo-shoots since the first one, expect more pictures from those to appear on this site soon.  For now, check out Facebook for the latest.
  • Lastly, I can’t forget to thank Aunt Shannon (again) for all the help she has given Missy and I this summer.  She has volunteered a lot of her time to help care for our babies, and her stepping up to take the graveyard shift during the week has been a huge reason as to why I’m still sane.  Without her, I would not be able to function at my job…or anywhere…and Missy probably would have disowned me by now.

Aunt Shannon has had her hands full this summer!

Here are a few more pictures from the past few weeks.

Uncle Handsome, doing his thing at 3:00AM!

Uncle Jake and Aunt Melissa Moby'd up!

Tennyson helping out with the morning feeding.

The Doctor is in!

Train Game gone awry. We still love you though, T!

Check back soon for more, non-list updates…although I think Thoughts from a New Father might become an LiP staple!

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

2 thoughts on “Thoughts from a New Father, Vol. 2

  1. I personally love the list format for your blogging Tom! Then again I think I’d love reading about your thoughts on fatherhood any way you’d choose to write them! I’m so proud of you….words can’t describe the pride I have for you! I know I’ve been overkill on the amount of times I’ve said this but I’ll say it again, august cannot come soon enough for my visit to see you all! Love and miss you greatly!

Comment & Discuss

