Caught in the Act

Or:  How to Steal a Pacifier, by Rowan Hardinge.

Step one:  The Approach. Acting innocent and naive as can be, scooch unsuspectingly over to Jovie while Daddy is distracted (in this case, helping Sienna finish her bottle).  Bop her playfully on the head a few times to get her attention.

The Approach

Step two:  The Steal. Now that she is fully amused by your wit and charm, wait until Daddy looks the other way, then quickly snatch the pacifier out of her mouth.

The Steal

Step three:  Bask in the glory of your success.

Victory

Rowan, you little stinker.

Some quick background:  I had finished feeding Rowan, so I let her play on her mat while the other girls took their bottles.  Jovie had finished, but Sienna had not, so Jovie was still in her bouncy seat as Rowan made her way over to check out the situation.

I guess we might as well get used to it…our babies are on the move.  While they have yet to walk or even crawl out-right, I have a feeling that they soon will be, making occurrences like this commonplace.

Pass the Tylenol.

+  +  +  +  +  +  +

(Yes, I could have stopped this if I wanted to, but I thought it would be funnier to document the action while letting the whole situation play out (does that make me a bad parent?).  Honestly, I’m just glad the shots turned out.  It’s not like the shutter lag on my Blackberry is anything to brag about; I almost missed these gems.  Plus, there was no harm done.  Jovie didn’t even cry or whine…she was laughing the whole time.)

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

4 thoughts on “Caught in the Act

  1. LOVE this post! So funny! You are definitely NOT a bad parent for allowing this to happen…just one with a sense of humor! And I’m sure the girls will be happy to see this one day. 🙂 I hope we get to meet them soon!

  2. Pingback: What It’s All About | living in pursuit

Comment & Discuss

