On the Move

Confession: I’ve been spending the past few nights trying to summarize how amazing 2010 was for Missy and I…but I can’t.

At first, I tried to create a Living in Pursuit “Best of 2010” list, but since everything else took a back seat once these three bundles of joy arrived in May…the air was quickly taken out of that idea. A “Second Best of 2010” list just doesn’t have the same ring to it (although, if we’re being honest here, my grandfather visiting Iowa in September would win that award). So I was back to square one.

Yet the more I thought about it, the more I realized that I couldn’t say anything else about 2010 than what’s been said already. A simple search back though the archives showed that approximately 96.5% of what’s been written here since last January has been about my family of two becoming a family of five, and all the ups and downs we’ve had along the way. We bought a minivan, had three babies, moved in with my in-laws, put our townhome on the market… no wonder I feel like twenty-ten was the fastest year of my life to date. So rather than looking back, I prefer instead…to look forward.

Yes, everyone has goals and resolutions (and a quick look around the interwebs shows that everyone is blogging about them as well)…but let’s be honest: they usually last about as long as an engagement from ABC’s The Bachelor. So rather than honing in on one specific objective such as losing weight or simplifying my lifestyle, I feel that there is one phrase that perfectly sums up the Hardinge Five in 2011: on the move.

On the Move

The Babies. No longer tiny “lumps of goo” (as Missy and I affectionately call the “eat, poop,cry, sleep” phase), I mentioned in my last post that the girls are literally on the move. From scooching, to crawling, to walking, this is the year that for the first time, the girls will be able to get where they want to go by themselves. We are currently in the market for a Kiddie Corral, and the baby-proofing of the house has already begun.

Passions

The Parents. Missy and I have our own personal goals for 2011 that hopefully won’t get lost in the sauce. From staying (or getting back into) shape and eating healthier, to reconnecting with some of our passions (playing and singing in the worship band at Hope), or even simply reconnecting with each other… now that we’ve finally got a small handle on our parenting routine, we can once again begin to make room for the minutiae that’s been missing this past year.

The Family

The Family. Perhaps my main aspiration for the five of us is to make our residency in West Des Moines permanent. Now that our townhome is officially on the market, it is high-time that Missy and I begin the planning process and making arrangements to build the place to call our own.  The place to raise our family…a nest…a home.  Of course, the townhouse has to sell before we start getting too serious, so we continue to pray that the right buyer is out there somewhere.  Meanwhile, that hasn’t stopped us from putting pen to paper, scheming and dreaming of exactly how our new house will look.  This is the place where we intend on spending our next 25-ish years…the place my daughters will come home to…it’s gotta be good!

So, no pressure, 2011…I’ve got big things planned for you.  The Hardinge Family is on the move, and I intend to make this one of the best years yet.  We’re already off to a great start; I can’t wait to see where these next 12 months take us!

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

One thought on “On the Move

  1. Pingback: Serious Wednesday Post | Resolving 2013 | living in pursuit

Comment & Discuss

