Embracing My Inner Foodie

Yesterday Missy and I were in a meeting with a potential home builder when we began to discuss the details: interior designs we like, furnishings we’d use, and exterior styles we admire. As we began to describe the latter, it occurred to me that I had just snapped a few paparazzi-esque photos of a house we spotted on an evening drive a few weeks back {scandalous!}. As I began to scroll through my catalog of phone pictures, what should have been a few brief seconds turned into a few awkward minutes…and it there is one thing I hate, it’s life during those few awkward minutes.

{As you well know, this isn’t the first time I’ve dealt with this issue…but in this case, it’s beside the point.}

The one thing I noticed as I continued to scroll through the images was that apparently I have an unusual obsession of taking pictures of the food I eat. Of the 600+ shots I’ve logged since getting a new phone last March, a good 10-15% of them are of food. This can’t be normal, can it?

“…I like to eat, is that such a crime!?” – Dewey Finn, School of Rock

Whether it’s preparing food…

I want my baby back, baby back, baby back...

Chef Missy hard at work.

Grillin' chops.

eating in

Dinner...family style.

Out on the back porch.

…or dining out

Pizza from Fongs Pizza, DSM

Burgers at Kuma's Corner, Chicago.

….more times than not, you will find me snapping pictures of the occasion. And yes, we like to grill.  If it’s above 50 degrees and not raining, we’re cooking outside.

After reviewing my collection in full, I thought: why not start a food blog? I like food…I like to blog…badda bing, badda boom! You know, the old “if you love it so much, why don’t you marry it” rhetoric. Yet, my right brain shot down my left brain 6.84 seconds later; the main reason being that I’ve already spent over two years writing this online “personal journal”; I’m not going to completely switch formats now. Plus, Missy and I regularly read a few phenomenal food blogs by some good friends and old classmates that are miles beyond anything I could ever come up with.

Be that as it may, I didn’t want to give up on the idea all together. After all, I will still take food pictures of everything from breakfast

Breakfast burrito and iced coffee.

…to late night snacks

Stove popcorn, for the win!

…to even baby food!

Baby food!

{FYI…the stickier the baby food, the less chance it has of going flying!}

…I just can’t help myself!!  So rather than creating a separate entity all together, I’ve created a new page right here on LiP for documenting and cataloging our occasional food-centric posts. From restaurants we’ve visited, to recipes we’ve tried…it will be your mini-gateway into the food minds of the Hardinge Five.

And I promise…posts like these will only appear once or twice a month, max.  Still expect to see the normal baby and family updates that you’ve come to know and love!

+ + + + +

Side notes: Missy is an amazing cook and master of all things culinary. She will definitely be contributing here too. Also, my mother {who is an ingenious cook in her own right} gave me a cookbook chock-full of her old standbys that I would like to begin working my way through, now that I’m a little more comfortable around the pots and pans. Oh, it’s also the same cookbook that I was supposed to transpose and distribute to my siblings a few years back…so Hannah, Addie, Robert…stay tuned!

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

6 thoughts on “Embracing My Inner Foodie

  1. Food is so incredible. I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately…not just the cooking and the eating of it. Think about the power of it. We all have it in common…since we all need it to survive. Meals are often the focal points of dates, holidays, wedding receptions, post-funeral gatherings, hanging out with friends, and on and on and on.

    I am convinced now more than ever that families should try to sit down for a meal together as much as your schedule possibly allows!

    Nice work guys…keep cooking and eating!

Comment & Discuss

