A Bodacious Day

When I was little, my Dad would take me outside on the especially beautiful days and say something like this:

“Tommy, do you know what today is?”

“No,” I would reply.

“Well today, my boy…today just happens to be a bodacious day!” he would exclaim, with emphasis on the BOH.

“What does that mean?” I would ask.

“It means that when you go outside, no matter which way you look, there isn’t a cloud to be seen in the entire sky,” he said with a particular reverence for the occasion.

“Coooooool!”

My dad was obviously wise beyond his years.

Even though I now realize that my old man was probably just using a goofy word from Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure to describe an exceptionally nice day, somehow through all these years the term has stuck with me and I find myself using it to this day. Heck, I’ve even got Missy using it now!

Though the girls don’t quite understand it yet, we went outside last Saturday on a perfectly bodacious day to enjoy the cool weather and fall colors. Sadly, this was the first time we’ve been out since a major windstorm hit the farm and we were finally able to survey the damage incurred to the house and fence.

Play house and play fence, that is 😉 We were able to get things fixed up in no time.

We mingled a while and strolled around back; Missy and Rowan stumbled upon a cherry tomato plant overflowing it branches just begging to be picked.

Meanwhile Jovie found a lone daisy that caught her attention. Jovie loves flowers…but lets get real…what girl doesn’t love flowers?!

We were soon cruising in the golf cart enjoying the beautiful colors of the season.

Before heading back inside we let the girls roam free… Rowan particularly took interest in Grandma Cindy’s ornamental windmill.

OH…and she LOVED her new (for her) boots…especially the sound they made as she stomped on the sidewalk…check them out! Pay no attention to their, uh…creative outfits…

Needless to say, keeping our eyes on all three when they going three different directions tends to be a little…challenging…at times. Here are those boots up close though…nice, right? 🙂

Overall, it was just another beautiful fall afternoon on the farm.

Sorry…just another bodacious day on the farm!

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

3 thoughts on “A Bodacious Day

  1. Pingback: Autumn Excursion | living in pursuit

Comment & Discuss

