Dude, somebody call Guinness…

Aww look, Sienna is lining up her Sesame Street figurines on the window sill. Seriously, how cute is she?!

{blinking}

{Wait, has she ever done this before?

This seems like a pretty advanced skill for someone her age.

Do other 17-month-olds line their toys up too? Doubt it! I’ve always thought that she was really smart, and this proves it! And I mean, just listen to her ever-expanding dictionary of words: Elmo, Cookie, Pretty, Cat, Duck, Up, Ball, Nose, Dada, and Mama…she’s practically shouting them everywhere she goes now! I don’t think I’ve ever seen another 17-month-old with so many words. Plus I swear at one point that the toys she was lining up on the window sill were organized from tallest to shortest…

Dude, somebody call Guinness World Records. Set up entrance interviews for the MIT, Stanford, and Cal-Tech Classes of 2032…can you say “scholarships”? Oh, and get me that number for the nearest school for the gifted…my kid is a freaking genius!}

“Hey babe…babe…come quick! Have you seen this?! I mean…we’ve got a legitimate wunderkind on our hands here!”

“Tommy {eyes rolling}, chill out…she does this all the time now! It’s normal…trust me.”

Leave it to Missy to bring me back to reality. I think step seven or eight on the 12-step process to full blown fatherhood is “Thinking That Your Child is a Genius (Even Though She is Just Doing Normal Developmental Processes)”…or something like that.

So Sienna technically might not be a genius after all. Whatever…she’s still a genius in my eyes. It is SO fun watching her (and of course Rowan and Jovie as well!) learn and develop in ways that Missy and I as new parents haven’t seen before. 17 months is becoming such a fun age of enlightenment and discovery…the girls continue to impress and amaze us all on a daily basis!

But parents, help me out here… we’ve all assumed that our kids are the smartest kids on the face of the Earth at one point or another, right?

(Believe me, she IS smiling under that pacifier…I just wish I had the foresight to snatch it out of her mouth before I snapped the picture. Sienna will be the hardest to break of this little habit…but that’s another fight for another day 😉)

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

2 thoughts on “Dude, somebody call Guinness…

  1. Yes, we all think our children are geniuses and they are! Right?! We recently came across a video we took of Carter when he was probably around 2. He was singing the entire theme song to Bob the Builder. That struck us as amazing and it’s super cute to look back on and remember!

Comment & Discuss

