Southern Staple

I’ve got a fever. And the only prescription is…more cowbell sweet tea!

Seriously though…as the days grow longer and our unseasonably warm Midwest winter continues, spring fever has genuinely gotten a hold of me. I increasingly find myself longing for flip-flops, bike rides, and sipping ice cold beverages outside on warm summer evenings.

Ask for “tea” while travelling anywhere in the southern United States and chances are good that you will get glass of the crisp, cool nectar of the gods known as sweet tea. While still technically south of the Mason-Dixon Line (eight miles to be exact), Hagerstown is by no means considered Deep South. Never the less, Mom still always managed to have sweet tea on hand when asked, ready at a moment’s notice to enjoy with a handful of hard pretzels or her famous cheese ball & crackers.

It’s easy to prepare, and even easier to enjoy. The recipe is extremely simple; the best part is that you only need three ingredients!

  1. 3 Family Size Tea Bags
  2. 2 Cups Sugar
  3. 2 Cups Water

{One family size tea bag equals approximately four regular bags}

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Once you’ve achieved said boilage, reduce heat and let your concoction simmer for 20 minutes. That’s it! You’ve successfully made your brew. Strain and remove the spent bags, then let cool and store at room temp…it will typically keep for about a week.

It’s that simple! If you can boil water, you can make sweet tea brew.

A word of caution: this is like tea-flavored simple syrup; a lot goes a long way. Just mix a few tablespoons in to a glass of ice water and enjoy. If you’d like to go a little sweeter, add more!

While my siblings, cousins, and I have all grown up and gone our own ways, we all have a little taste of home…ready at a moment’s notice. From Maryland

…to Tennessee

…to Iowa

…Mom made sure we were all equipped with the know-how to enjoy this little piece of home where ever we went. Now, you can too!

{P.S. Thanks to my bro Addie for inspiring this post by being the first to whip up some brew this year!}

{P.P.S.  It helps if you take the string and tags off before boiling….Hannah… ;-)}

This entry was posted in Just for Fun by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

7 thoughts on “Southern Staple

  1. Don’t forget, every single family event held at granny’s/mingys house had this delectable refreshment too! We couldn’t get together without our sweet tea! Thank you Addie! I will always have this on hand now!!!

  2. for the record : the original recipe began with a loose tea measurement, and that is 1/4 cup, which I then formulated into tea bags by measuring how many tea bags were in a 1/4 cup of loose tea :O) just fyi and I leave the strings on my bags…but I DO take off the paper tags (Hannah) :O)

  3. This tea brew recipe comes from your grandmother’s mother…my, your Mom’s, Uncle Dan’s, and Uncle Andy’s Granny. When I was in college in Va, they served iced tea yr. round, so when I came home, I asked my mom if we could’t start drinking it yr. round too and that’s when my mom said that was a good idea and we began making my Granny’s tea brew…a little Wallace, Poffenberger history…….

  4. Oh it lasts longer if you refrigerate the brew…it might be safer too to keep it cold ,but there is so much sugar that not keeping it cold is probably ok.

  5. Pingback: Construction Update #14 | living in pursuit

  6. I like what I am seeing here. I didn’t realize the revolution that I was starting when I posted that picture, I was just pumped for some sweet tea! Now that I live in TN it has become a mandatory staple in my life!

Comment & Discuss

