Construction Update #19 | Part 3

Image

• • • • •

Ok, so I lied. Our never before seen “two part construction update” is actually an epic three part construction update! I know, I’m seriously dragging this out for as much as it’s worth…so I promise I’ll be quick.

We had our house inspected by the city of West Des Moines today, and guess what? It passed…which means that technically we can occupy {we’s gots the keys!}. Also, despite last night’s wave of thunder showers, apparently there wasn’t enough to keep from pouring our driveway…as I found out when I saw a dozen men in goulashes with shovels outside the house at 7:15AM when I left for work.

Now the fun starts: Missy and I will be moonlighting these next few weeks trying to get the house feeling as homey and welcoming as possible before:

a) Permanently moving the girls and messing with their cheese

b) BG4 arrives in May

We’ve already started to assemble furniture and move in boxes to fill our cupboards…it won’t be long now until we start getting all the big stuff in place too. Almost there!

Lastly, Construction Update #20 will be my last in this series…but I’m thinking about waiting until we’re settled before posting it. Of course, that means that it probably won’t happen next week; another reason for a three part post this week 😀 

Thank you all for your love and support throughout this whole process, and for following along with us each week to see the latest developments with the house and with our lives in general. Hopefully we can have you over this summer to show off our pad to you in person…these posts don’t even begin to do it justice!

Previously >

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

2 thoughts on “Construction Update #19 | Part 3

  1. Everything looks stunning. Great job! We know you’ll be very happy there. Didn’t have my first house until I was almost 40. This is an amazing accomplishment arrived at through focus and dedication. Bravo. We’re so very proud of you. There’s NO feeling like having those keys placed in your hand…
    BTW those very lights were contenders for Hunt’s and my kitchen. LOVE them. Love all your artsy details! Missy, can you help me get into PINTREST? I need a referral, I think.

    • Thank you, and we’re glad you like the lights, Peg! I didn’t think I would, but now I love the way they look in the space. Can’t wait to show it off to you in person.

      Just sent you a pinterest invite last night. Let me know if it works!

Comment & Discuss

