Naming Rights

I think…it’s official. We have finally chosen a name for our new daughter. Truth be told, it’s been semi-official for many weeks now, but since her arrival is swiftly approaching, it’s high time that we made it fully-official.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: coming up with one baby name is a lot harder than coming up with three. When the girls were born we were frequently asked where the names we chose for them came from; however, it recently occurred to me that I never had a chance to share that with you here. With people anxiously awaiting the big reveal of the fourth, I thought that now would be as good of a time as any to finally give you the inside scoop on one, two, and three.

Sienna Elaine

  • Sienna – For the Tuscan village we fell in love with on our Italian honeymoon
  • Elaine Grandma Cindy’s middle name

Rowan Anna

  • Rowan – A Baby Name book find that immediately stuck with us
  • Anna – Named after my aunt (whom my siblings, cousins, and I were all very close to) that passed away when I was young

Jovie Jane

  • Jovie – Zooey Deschanel’s character in the movie Elf, one of our Christmas-time faves
  • Jane – My (maternal) grandmother’s middle name

BG#4 – ???

{What? You didn’t actually think I was going to tell you here, did you? ;-)}

Now, it’s is your chance to weigh in! We’d love to hear your guesses on the name you think we will choose for our new baby girl. Sound off in the comments, because delivery day (May 8th) is right around the corner…but we all know that things could change in an instant!

What do you think her name will be?

This entry was posted in Just for Fun by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

14 thoughts on “Naming Rights

  1. love this! i was thinking the other day that we need to explain rooney’s name, too 🙂 can’t wait to hear baby tuna’s real name! (i have no guesses, although i was very intrigued when you said it goes with the other names a little too well…)

  2. I don’t know you guys as well as I’d like to, but I’ve greatly enjoyed watching your family grow, and love how you’ve been willing to share your experiences! I’m going to guess your new daughter will be Bella Hope. Bella is “beautiful” in Italian, and Hope, well, we all know where that comes from! Thanks for letting me guess, and best of everything as you add a new little sister to the mix!

  3. Pingback: Naming Rights | Part 2 | living in pursuit

Comment & Discuss

