Totally Blog-Worthy Date Night

There are times when I think that you know too much about me. That I’m oversharing the minute details of my life now that things like Facebook for iPhone, Twitter, and Instagram have made it so easy for me to do so. Missy frequently tells me to “put the phone down”…especially on date night.

I never intended to share with you the intricate details of the seldom times Missy and I get to spend alone out on the town together. Not everyone needs to know where we’ve been or what we’re eating. Date night is for us. Date night is sacred.

Then again, in my 28 years of living I never once thought I’d be going out on date night to a grocery store. Yet there we were at 7:30PM Thursday night pulling into the packed parking lot of West Des Moines’ own Whole Foods Market. By the time we had completed one lap around the store, we knew we were hooked and our adventure needed to be shared 😀

Simply put, Whole Foods is a supermarket chain that’s dedicated to selling natural, organic, and (working with its surrounding community) local products to their consumers. Despite having hundreds locations around the country, the West Des Moines store happens to be Iowa’s first.

With the over 500 people showing up for the grand opening this past Wednesday, Miss and I figured that we needed to go see what all the hubbub was about!

(source)

While there weren’t quite that many people there as we arrived, there was still plenty of fuss once inside the automatic doors. We did a quick scan of the layout and eventually made our way over to where fresh meals were being prepared: cheeses, a hot bar, a cold bar, deli counter, pizza, pastries…anything our little hearts desired…was being offered.

We eventually settled on fresh deli sandwiches, but the $500 question of the night was: could we enjoy a few adult beverages with our meal? Nobody had an answer for us. So Missy went on the prowl, and eventually found a “team leader” who not only confirmed that we could, but we could also take them around the store with us afterwards as we shopped.

Sold! Now, as for who had bottle opener…that itself was another 10 minute excursion, having eventually found a patron in line at customer service that had one. I have a feeling we won’t be the last ones to ask…

After sitting, eating, drinking, and chatting…we proceeded to grocery shop! We found everything we needed, from desserts…

…to stocking up on organic spices…

…and of course, craft brews!

Oh, and did I mention desserts?

We soon called it a night, but not before picking out a decedent chocolate cupcake to share when we got home.

Chocolate tea cup on top…whaaaat?!

We also ended up with an enormous bouquet of some gorgeous gladiolas (Missy’s fave) for only four bucks!

All-in-all…it was an extremely successful date night. Whole Foods…welcome to Iowa, and please consider us a fan. We can’t wait for the next trip!

And for the record, I know I broke a few of my dietary rules…but, anything goes on date night. Plus, rules are meant to be broken…I’ve had a pretty good week otherwise 😉

This entry was posted in Just for Fun by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

6 thoughts on “Totally Blog-Worthy Date Night

  1. Seemed like a good night to go to whole foods. Didn’t seem too busy (looking from the pics). I went opening night and it was very crowded. Love the place though! The sushi there is outstanding!!

  2. Pingback: Monday Musings | living in pursuit

  3. My boys like whole foods when they are in Dallas, Matt said he got some awesome grass fed rib eyes there the other day….a real splurge but worth it. I loved getting to see Lola at the shower and Grandma Peg was glad to have a namesake. Becky

  4. Pingback: Serious Wednesday Post | Resolving 2013 | living in pursuit

  5. Pingback: Monday Musings | living in pursuit

Comment & Discuss

