Monday Musings

Monday? Already!?

Didn’t it seem like Friday was just yesterday? Always does, I suppose…

Dietary Update

It’s been just over one month since starting Project: Healthier Choices and so far I’ve found that the biggest detriment to my quest has been the steady disruption of my daily routine. Hear me now: I’m not in any way complaining or saying that this disruption has been a bad thing; I’m simply stating that trying to start a new diet plan while managing…

  • A steady stream of house guests and visitors
  • Weekly summer cookouts, parties, and get-togethers
  • The Iowa State Fair just around the corner

…probably wasn’t the brightest idea I’ve ever had.

That said, I’m still been trying my best to stay on the wagon. I’ve ran twice in the past week, which is two more times than I’ve run in the past eight months prior. While the first run was a rude and unpleasant awakening (to say the least), the second time out I dug up some butt-busting playlists from ages ago, and even though I had to skip my old tempo song (it was a lot faster than I remember it being!), I still managed not to stop and walk once. Small victories!

And yes, I know that I wouldn’t continue talking about it…I guess I lied 😉

Nothing Compares

To the Iowa State Fair!

Yes, it’s that time of year again, and lord knows I love me some Iowa State Fair! I took Friday off and spent the entire day at out with the family…the entire day.

We had the whole crew out in force (minus Melissa, who sadly was home sick with a fever) for the morning, and made sure we hit all the must-sees: their favorite this year was “Little Hands on the Farm (simulating the entire “Field-to-Farmers-Market” experience, complete with a store to spend their hard-earned money at the end)…

…and the fountains, which are always a splash (hey-o!)!

By nap time, Missy had convinced me to stay at the fair while she went home to nap the girls. Meanwhile, we ran into these crazy kids

…who let me tag along with them for the afternoon!

Missy and Jake met up with me later in the afternoon for some fun filled adult time at the craft brew tent…

…and a venture up into the fair campgrounds…

…to lay low away from the crowds and enjoy a few beverages before heading back down into the furor of State Fair After Dark.

Even though I ended up ingesting massive amounts of fried food over twice the recommended caloric intake of a non-dieting adult male…

…our day was a huge success. And hey, it only happens once a year, right?

Ramblings

  • We’ve had another action-packed week of visitors; this time Jake, Melissa, Tennyson, and my new nephew Wick were here! Don’t worry, Hotel Hardinge remained unoccupied as the Flo-Bix crew took up temporary residence across the street.
  • We attended a birthday party for good friend of the girls this past weekend, and while they entertained themselves with the climbing wall…

…house of bounce…

…and other party things…

…I busied myself talking all things homebrew with Jake and Ryan, the uncle of the birthday girl, whose batch of German Altbier recently took 2nd Place at the state fair! Needless to say, I think I’ve just found a new resource for all my homebrewing needs!

And with that, I’m off to bed… have a great week!

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

6 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. Say whaat? There’s a homebrew contest at the fair?! It’s probably a good thing Nathan didn’t know about that earlier… At least now he’s got a whole year to prepare. : )

  2. Pingback: Monday Musings | living in pursuit

  3. Pingback: Monday Musings Returns | living in pursuit

Comment & Discuss

