Monday Musings

I did it – but barely.

That is…I managed not to go another week without posting in between Monday Musings. However, just in case you missed it (what, you mean you weren’t up and on your computer at 11:30 last Saturday night?), make sure you check out my latest summer recap post: The Hardinge Hotel! Like I mentioned last week: it’s impossibly hard to cram so many good memories into one little update, but hopefully you get the idea.

Feeling Like Fall

I don’t know about you, but we had some glorious weather here in central Iowa to help usher in the first official weekend of fall, and you’d be a fool to think that we didn’t get outside to enjoy it. Despite waking up to temperatures in the mid-thirties Saturday and Sunday, things were absolutely perfect by each afternoon. So much so that on Sunday we all piled into the minivan to visit G-Pa Steve at The Ranch – one of the three other farms he manages – to help with the harvest.

And by help, I mean taking turns riding in the Combine!

There is also a small Public Park nearby that we stopped at to play on an ancient-looking suspension bridge…

…and snap a few family pics…

…despite being incredibly nervous that the girls would scamper away from us and run right through the precarious wire fencing beneath the side rails.

Next time we are down that way we hope to stop by one of the much more famous covered bridges, a few of which are just minutes away from the Ranch. Oh, and we also drove by Howell’s Pumpkin Patch on the way home, which started a conversation about planning our return visit this year…we love fall!

Forget-Me-Not

I tend to joke about it frequently here on the blog, but in all honesty…the first 4-6 months of the girls’ lives are pretty much a complete blur to me. Hard as I try, I can’t seem to remember all the cute things they did as infants…I find myself relying on my past entries more than ever these days.

I mention this because there is so much that seems “new” with Lola…I struggle to compare her “cute new things” to anything that the triplets were doing at this point in their lives. Like when she’s on my hip and sees another familiar face, she will smile and kick wildly before playfully burying her face into my chest. I’m telling you: it melts. my. heart. each time she does it…I don’t ever want to forget it.

Along with any of the other dozen things that she does like it on a daily basis.

Sadly, I’m afraid that all-to-soon I will…

Actual Conversation of the Week

Yep. That happened.

Ramblings

(It’s a long list tonight folks, so settle in!)

  • Full report of all our harvest adventures coming soon! The girls have LOVED helping Grandpa Steve and ride in the massive combine with him…plenty of great pics and stories deserving of their own post soon!
  • Year of the Baby continues! Newborn shout out to our friends Andy and Heather, who just welcomed baby Violet into their family last Thursday! Extra cool to visit them, since they have just moved back to Iowa after spending the past year living in So-Cal. Welcome home!

  • Word to the wise: leave the triplets to their own devices for more than 15 minutes and you’re asking for trouble. I was home with all four kiddos last Thursday, and let them eat their supper alone while I fussed with Lola in the family room. Unfortunately, by the time I had settled Lo down enough to check on them, they had removed the floor vent cover and stuffed their entire (and brand-new) tea set down into the ductwork. I mean…what am I supposed to say to that?! Technically, they didn’t necessarily know that it was wrong to do that because I had never told them before that they couldn’t shove their toys down there…so how was I to punish them? Thankfully I managed to get everything back out again, minus one rogue spoon that remains just out of reach…

  • Found further evidence found proving that Missy is the bomb dot com mom:

Caught her crafting felt Jack-O-Lantern craft faces for the girls before bed.  Seriously, she never ceases to amaze me with the activities she continues to come up with to entertain the girls. What will she think of next?

  • Anyone else notice on Saturday (the Autumnal Equinox) that the setting sun aligned {almost} perfectly with our western running roads? Here is our view from Army Post:

Fun fact: when this phenomenon occurs in NYC it’s known as “Manhattanhenge,” although due to the offset of their east and westbound streets, it happens once a few weeks before and once a few weeks after the summer solstice. I’m really not sure why I know this though…

  • Just bought the ingredients for my next batch of homebrew: White House Honey Ale! The best part is that I’m using local honey provided by a coworker who, as it turns out, moonlights as an apiarist…who knew?  Oh, and the honey tastes so fresh and flowery…totally different than what you’d buy at the grocery store. Can’t wait to see how this turns out!
  • Editor’s Note: I typically don’t write and publish my blog posts until late in the evening, so please excuse any typos and any other poor usage of the English language that you come across. I try to fix most of them prior to publishing…but those errors that still sneak by will hopefully be corrected eventually. So, I apologize for past mistakes…aaaand for future ones as well 😉

That’s all for tonight…have a great week!

5 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. Tom, I love reading about your family! I feel like I know them. You and Missy are absolute wonderful parents. Those girls are just toooo cute!

  2. Pingback: Bumper Crop | living in pursuit

  3. Pingback: So This is 30. | living in pursuit

Comment & Discuss

