Monday Musings

You’ve heard of No Shave November and Movember, but here’s a new one for you: did you know that November is National Novel Writing Month? It’s true…NaNoWriMo is a real thing. So in honor of this newly discovered information, I will now give you a 5,000 word Musings while working on growing out my neck beard.

I kid…

My DIY Life – UPDATE

After spending the better part of Saturday and Sunday lugging and laying 18 pound pavers up and down the width of our front lawn, I can honestly tell you that from my achy joints to my throbbing legs and callused hands, I’ve never been quite so sore in my life. Yet after finishing up most of the grunt work, all I have to say is: Worth It!

Yes, we still have a lot of work to do, like adding the jointing sand and backfilling the extra two feet of earth that the skid-loader took out…but for the most part, things have turned out much better than expected. We weren’t too concerned about maintaining a straight edge, actually preferring the jagged unfinished look. Just promise me that you won’t look too close next time you visit; this has been my first paver experience and I was really just guessing, especially when I reached the sweeping curve.

And of course, it decided to rain all night long the very night I finished laying the last of the pavers. Without the jointing sand in place, some of the stones have moved and settled…it looks like I’ll be renting the plate compactor once again to make sure our path is as level as possible.

I’ll let you know how it all turns out!

Lola – UPDATE

We had Lola’s six month checkup this afternoon…

Yep, still big! Although to be honest, not quite as big as we’d expected. Missy and I had a friendly wager going to see who would be closest to guessing Lola’s actual weight. I said 21 lb. 2 oz, while Missy was a bit more realistic at 19-1/2 pounds. Only off by one!

What’s really surprising is that she seems (and feels) so much bigger…I mean, we’ve got her in 9-12 month sleepers right now! Like this one…

Ok, so that may of may not have been an excuse to post some super cute new pictures of our Lola bean. But for reals, that is a 9-12 month sleeper!

UPDATE – In Which I tell you that we’ve started decorating for Christmas on November 1st

You read that correctly, Halloween is the new Thanksgiving at the homestead…at least this year!

Here’s another fun fact: since we’ve been married, Missy and I have never woken up alone together on Christmas morning in our own house. Hard to believe, I know, but we’ve been a little busy these past few years when it comes to Christmas:

  • 2006: Sleep over at the Florer Farm with Jake and Melissa visiting (from Portland!)
  • 2007: Christmas & New Years in Hagerstown
  • 2008: Sleep over at the Florer Farm with Jake, Melissa, and (at the time) our four-month-old niece Tennyson
  • 2009: Christmas & New Years in Hagerstown (remember when we drove through Snowpocalypse when Missy was four months pregnant with the triplets?)
  • 2010: Christmas at the Florer Farm (this time as our temporary residence while our house was being built across the street)
  • 2011: Christmas & New Years in Hagerstown (Plus the Gender Reveal Party!)

Finally, as we get ready for our seventh Christmas together since saying our “I Do’s…” we fully intend to be celebrating Christmas morning together as a nuclear family of six. Don’t get me wrong, we’ve loved every minute of being with those we love the most during the holidays, but please don’t ever accuse us wanting to be a little stingier with our time when it comes to Christmas from now on!

Piece by piece we’re bringing up all our Christmasy decorations from storage and finding spaces from them to occupy on the main floor for the next two plus months. We’ve even started to bust out the Christmas time gear for the kiddos 😀

We may or may not be (read: most definitely will be) going a bit over board this year now that we finally have a house worthy of decorating! Not that the townhouse wasn’t worthy, it’s just that we couldn’t do too much with 1,000 square feet of space and no private lawn for tacky props and blow-up characters…especially when we weren’t even there for the big day!

Plus I mean, come’on…we’re always complaining about how the holiday seems to fly by each year, not giving us a chance to enjoy the Christmas spirit for as long as we’d like. And have you been to any big box store lately? Christmas is already in full swing…so if you can’t be them, join them…right?

Right?!

Actual Conversation of the Week

Ramblings

  • Election Day is tomorrow. “I’m really going to miss all these political commercials and advertisements.” – said no one ever. All joking aside, make sure you get out there and vote (if you haven’t already ;-))!
  • We’re still all sickly (see above) at the Hardinge Homestead. Runny noses, coughs, sneezes…poor Sienna has even started to lose her voice 😦 I honestly feel like I’ve had this same lingering cough for a month straight. Every time I feel like I’m getting better I “re-catch” the bug and start hacking up a lung all over again. Not helping matters is that my head is so stuffed up, every scream, shriek, and cry sounds 20 times louder as it echos around my inner ears. Please send some prayers for health and healing our way!
  • Daylight Savings Time ended this weekend…not only did we “gain an hour” overnight, but I swear someone must have added seven additional hours while we slept. Longest day EVER. The early darkness at night is so much more abrupt ever since standard time moved back two extra weeks…it’s like we have no transitional buffer time any more. Blurg.
  • I’m happy to report that the east coast fam remained all safe and sound throughout the fury of hurricane Sandy, with only my sistah’s place sustaining the worst of the physical damage…

Yet seeing the pictures and reading the horrific stories of the obscene amount of damage and destruction caused by this monster storm, I’m thankful that everyone close to us made it out no worse for the wear. Our sincerest thoughts and prayers go out to all of those who were afflicted.

That’s all for tonight…off to bed I said! Have a great week, and don’t forget to vote!

 

4 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. We have all had the nagging lingering cough here as well! Prayers for all to return to normal good health soon!
    The pavers look amazing tom! Great job!!

  2. seriously Tommy have you tried the netty pot yet? I went 2 rounds with the dr and Rx last year and still the ‘screaming’ pain beyond belief in my head…after using it ONCE everything changed, after a wknd it was unbelievable…..just sayin’….it’s simple……. like your walkway a lot 🙂

Comment & Discuss

