A Rite of Passage

This wasn’t in the manual.

You know, the manual that comes with your child? I don’t remember much from the first few months of the girls lives, but I swear we must’ve gotten one…something as hard as raising children wouldn’t come without one, right? Maybe I’m wrong…

Well even if we did have one, I know that this wouldn’t be covered. We’ve officially reached a whole new level of parenthood. The thing is, we knew there would be tough days. We knew there would be hard, sleepless nights. From teething, to walking, to potty training…with all sorts of sicknesses in between…Missy and I had thought we had seen it all.

Welp, we were wrong.

Another stomach bug (or something…) made its way through our house this past weekend (just yesterday actually) and while Missy and I have evaded its clutches thus far, our girls haven’t been so fortunate. It started with Lola losing her lunch early in the afternoon. However, she was resilient and bounced back to her playful self by supper time. Just a fluke, we thought.

Then Sienna came down with it just before bed, forcing us to tear the slip covers from our couch and throw them in the wash and comforting her to sleep. We went to bed early and braced for a long, sleepless night.

It was a good thing that we did; our wake-up call came after 2:00AM with Sienna crawling into our bed…with dried vomit caked in her hair and all down her clean white PJ’s.

No Sleep 3

Missy and I sprang up and into triage mode…she stripped Sienna down and stuck her in the bath while I went in and surveyed the damage. There I saw one of the heartbreaking things I’ve seen so far as a father…the poor girl didn’t even wake up when she got sick in the middle of the night. I will spare you the intimate details, but her bed and pillow were absolutely covered. Thankfully, three years ago when we were buying crib sheets and mattresses, Missy made the brilliant decision to purchase waterproof, rubberized mattress covers as well…so all I had to do last night was strip everything, ball up it up and throw it in the wash.

Once I returned to the girls’ room, I began to closely inspect the other two…and that’s when I found Jovie’s bed caked as well. The odd thing is that Jovie hardly had anything on her…it appeared to just be on the blankets and sheets. So what we can’t figure out is that if she was sick last night as well, or if Sienna got sick on Jovie’s bed. Regardless, I carried Jov into our room too so that I could wash her covers as well. By this time Sienna was out of the tub and getting dressed…so I finished up the bedroom business while Miss put on a cartoon, and I soon returned with two Pedialyte cocktails just in case.

No Sleep 1

No Sleep 2

It was long past 3:00AM by the time we got the sick ones back in bed and settled back down ourselves…just in time for Lola to wake up for a nursing.

Such is the life…a rite of passage that I’m sure all parents experience at least once in their lives!

To top it all off, it’s Monday and we’re all stuck indoors once again thanks to another messy winter storm system. I can’t tell you how badly the Hardinge Clan is ready for spring. Back with Musings tomorrow night…I’m off to bed.

This entry was posted in The Triplets by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

6 thoughts on “A Rite of Passage

  1. We’ve had several heartbreaking “slept through vomiting” incidents too. One time with Claire, she went the ENTIRE night with dried vomit all over her and her bedding. Never woke up. Imagine my horror when I could smell it before I even got close to her room when I went to wake her up in the morning. Yep, no manual covers that mixture of parental guilt and being totally grossed out. Praying you all get better soon so you can enjoy the Iowa heat wave that’s on tap later this week! 🙂

Comment & Discuss

