Dance It Out

Missy grew up a dancer.

Not like a did-it-for-something-to-do type dancer. I’m talking 5:00AM call times (for high school dance team), endless rehearsals and practices on school nights, weekend shows at state fairs/shopping malls/regional competitions-until-you-turn-blue…dancer.

Nowadays, she teaches at the studio that her favorite instructor she grew up with has since started…so any chance that our kids wouldn’t be dancers went out the window when we found out we’d be having three girls.

Just kidding. She’d strangle me in my sleep if I were to seriously make that statement…because the truth is that even if we had boys, they would be dancers too. And I’m totally OK with that because I’ve seen first-hand her absolute passion and talent for dance and wouldn’t question for one millisecond putting little boys in dance class.

Heck, even I want to take a dance class now! (hip hop f’sho)

But I digress…I promise this post has a point, and that is this: the girls (Sienna, Rowan, and Jovie) had their first dance recital this past weekend, and it was one of the proudest moments to date I’ve had as their father. They’ve been working so incredibly hard since August learning their steps and positions (with Mama Missy as their teacher!) and it all paid off on the big stage last Saturday…and I couldn’t help but share with everyone!

Here is the first run-through and dress rehearsal (Shows the girls getting used to the stage, going over where to stand with Missy, and then general overview of the whole class. Also anotated to show who each glowing girl is…turns out that it’s really hard for my little camcorder to adjust between the darkness of the seating area and bright lights of the stage!):

And then their big performance a few hours later (Make sure to watch if you want to see more close-up facial expressions).

Oh my. There are no words to describe the sense of pride and accomplishment I had the first time I watched. Ugh…I was tearing up so hard as I tried to capture the moment (hence all the shaky camerawork). SO proud of all my ladies!

10253834_629460190039_8011412318863890380_n

One last thing: Missy was not just a teacher…she also performed in the recital as well during the Teacher & Alumni dance which brought the house down! I was able to record the run through and then watch her perform via live stream…I’m here to report my girl still gots moves (I missed the very beginning, so look for the black fedora)!

Awwww yeah!

I blame the shaky camera work this time on a sick, wiggly two-year-old who wouldn’t stop squirming around on my lap. But you get the idea.

And as that getup? She’s rocking her 10th grade performance outfit…

IMG_2213

#stillgotit #whatafox #totallymarriedup

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

2 thoughts on “Dance It Out

  1. Pingback: A Midsummer Night’s Update | living in pursuit

Comment & Discuss

