One September Weekend

Missy has been dropping a few hints lately that I should blog more often. Some subtle, others…not so subtle:

IMG_6628

Noted.

The thing is, we didn’t set out to make this past weekend blog-worth by any means. Heck, as of 8:00PM last Thursday night we had absolutely no plans. Like…zero.

But how does that silly old cliché go? “Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.” …or something to that effect. Well, I suppose this weekend was one of those “life is happening” weekends…which makes no sense now that I’ve typed it, but I hope you’re starting catch my drift.

♦♦♦

Saturday morning, Missy took the girls swimming, and I chopped wood in preparation for (hopefully) a slew of fall bonfires now that the weather is cool enough at night to enjoy them.

No seriously, that’s all I did for almost two hours straight. And it was awesome.

All week long I had been nursing my dad’s old chainsaw back to running condition…after having if officially handed down to me earlier this summer. I had stripped it down, cleaned the parts, and replaced the spark plug with many helping hands along the way…

Helping Daddy

…and it finally fired up Friday evening! I know that all sounds like such a trivial thing, but I was able to trim up some overgrown trees and cut a few massive logs down to a usable size…a chore that has been on my to-do list for ages.

september weekend 23 Few things compare to hard morning’s work outdoors!

The one “plan” we did make (for continuity’s sake, we can pretend that we made it after 8:00 Thursday night) was an evening out with the entire family to celebrate Grandma Peg’s 86th birthday. Which is an awesome thing to be celebrating!

And I was dreading it.

See, up until this point in our children’s lives, our restaurant experience with the whole crew in tow has been 99-cent kids meal night at the local grocery store. Even with its buffet style lines and communal seating, I’m still an anxious mess, uttering “hushes” and “sit stills” every other sentence. I could not imagine wrangling the heard at nice, credible dining establishment.

Processed with VSCOcam with g2 preset

september weekend 06

Yet we went forth into the unknown, sweating bullets behind a soft smile. After all, you only turn 86 once.

Processed with VSCOcam with s1 preset

And you know what? They. Were. Amazing.

Processed with VSCOcam with t2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with s2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t2 preset

BYOB now officially stands for Bring Your Own Bib 😉

For almost two hours they were as close to perfect as three four-year-olds and a two year old can be. At least half a dozen random strangers came up during the meal to give us their compliments.

Naturally, a well-deserved sunset trip to Gray’s Lake Park to stretch out eight antsy legs…

september weekend 09

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

…was in order to cap off the perfect evening.

♦♦♦

Sunday was a huge do-nothing day…and by do nothing I mean that I mean we got a ton of stuff done (and had a ton of fun in the process).

Like painting the playhouse…

Processed with VSCOcam with 4 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

…picking apples across the street…

september weekend 21

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

september weekend 22

…and get this: helping our neighbors with the honey harvest!

Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I jumped right in to help, and while the process was entertaining enough for to hold the girls’ attention for a while…

Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c2 preset

…I think they especially enjoyed playing the part of Quality Control!

Processed with VSCOcam with c3 preset

And yes, that is a mural of Starry Night painted on their basement wall. How cool is that?!

Our hearts were full by the time Miss & I settled in to bed Sunday night. I’m so blessed to have such great kids…and so thankful to share these experiences with them.

Weekend win.

 

This entry was posted in All by Tom Hardinge. Bookmark the permalink.

About Tom Hardinge

Loving husband to my wife Missy, loving father to my four daughters Sienna, Rowan, Jovie, and Lola. I'm a chronic over-packer who loves good coffee, good music, running, waffle tee's, fleece pants, and Jesus Christ!

One thought on “One September Weekend

Comment & Discuss

